The Struggle is Real

I’ve been struggling for the past week.

Not a little struggle either, I mean big time.

The way I’m feeling is familiar. It’s a feeling of occupying my every thought. Something I’m obsessing over rather than the gym. It’s keeping me from doing my best and staying on track.

We all get like this. At least I think so.

We all do get distracted. Something pulls us away from this or that. Whether mean to let it or not, we do get preoccupied.

What we should do isn’t what I’ve been doing. Saying f the gym and eating everything in front of me. It’s been wrecking havoc on my body.

Don’t do that. Don’t be like me in high stress situations.

This is a time in anyone’s life where you can test your will and resolve. Prove to yourself that nothing will keep you from your goal.

For a week I completely failed at that. It was last night as I was finishing my final exam for accounting that it really hit me how much I’ve let this little situation take hold of my life. It was also at that moment that I realized I’m not letting something that would have no issues replacing me in a day affect me in such a way.

I’m back at the gym. I’ve turned my mind off to the problem and have a new determination…. Family, gym, school, and new job hunt.

I’ve found that be focused on other things is an awesome distraction. Working harder at the gym. Studying more for my last year in school. Focusing on my family. That’s what keeps me focused.

Family is important. It’s everything to me. Pretty much everything I do in life is to better my family. School. Working out. Not just quitting this shitastic job without another one.

If you think about it, you have specific reasons why you do things. Why you get up and go to work. Why you go to the gym. Why you’re going to school. Or even why you’re looking to get healthy.

It’s your purpose in life.

I’ve heard so many people question what their/our purpose is on Earth. And I always hear the cop out answer of God’s will.

No…. Not because some being said so. Look at your life. Think about those in your life. Even if shit seems hopeless, it’s not. Perhaps what you’re going through now is why you’re great. To overcome and help others overcome. Whether it’s a weight issue. Drugs. Alcohol. Or a bad relationship. You getting through this hard part could be your reason in life.

The thing is you can’t give up. You can’t quit. You have to push your gears and anxiety to the back of your mind and move forward. Eventually, things will get better. You’ll be in control again. I know that’s what’s going to happen for me and for my family. The thing is, you also have to push yourself. You can’t give up.

Facing those hardships only matter if you handle them correctly and don’t say f*ck it like I have been. Do better. Go faster. Push harder.

You can do it

Don’t quit, DO IT!

2 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real

  1. I know what you mean. I’ve been struggling with my weight since I’ve retired. I have a treadmill, a stationary bicycle and a cardio machine in the family room that I don’t use nearly enough. I’m going to just buckle down and start using these things every day. Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll let you know of my progress.

    Like

Leave a comment